The Lindenwood Review: a journal of literary prose

The Lindenwood Review literary journal publishes fiction (short fiction and flash fiction), creative nonfiction (personal essays, lyric essays, and flash nonfiction), and prose poems (block format). The journal is published annually, and students in the university's MFA in Writing program serve as editorial assistants as part of their MFA coursework.

Original, unpublished work may be submitted from July 1 through October 1 via Submittable (no fee). Submissions are welcome from both emerging and established writers. We are looking for fiction with believable characters and a vivid story; creative nonfiction that is well-crafted and fiercely honest; prose poems with a distinctive atmosphere and interesting use of language; and mostly, work that moves us as readers and inspires us as writers. We look forward to reading your work! .

Visit Submittable to view our submission guidelines.

The Lindenwood Review on Facebook

Contact us with any questions at [email protected]

Current Issue: Volume 1, Issue 13 (2023)

Creative Nonfiction


Ars Longa, Vita Brevis
Amanda Bramley


What Rises to the Surface
Kelly R. Samuels


Nostalgia By The Pint
Andrew Johnston


The Front Porch
Diane Pickett

Prose Poems


And Joy
Holly Cian


Why I Didn’t Leave
Elizabeth Gade


Shingletown Gap
Susan Muth



Rowing in the Dark
Laurel Dile King


The Vandal
Franz Jørgen Neumann


Crystal McQueen


Saxophone Prayer
Steve Carey-Walton


Non-Intensive Care
Frances Koziar

Full Issue



Beth Mead

Editorial Assistants

Sally Aldridge, Janet F. Baker-Campbell, Sam C. R. Barnette, Ty Blackstone, LaPheadra S. Boss, Brittany Buchholz, Sarah Coble, C.A. Coffing, Ryan Doskocil, Grace M Ealick, Raven C. Eckman, Ashley H. Edlin, Alexander Forston, Andrea González Alvear, Joseph Gorrell, Martin Haeger, Brandon Harden, Michael Heffernan, Allen Herndon, Gustavo Hinojosa, Ashley Huddle, Tara Kunesh, Victoria Lau, Jordyn Lutzow, Montha Maiy, Jessie Mavros, Melissa Nelson, Amanda J Peirce, Roxanne Rose, Jonathan M. Saucedo, Brandon Tezzano, Andrea M. Thompson, Danielle M. Turcotte, Saidah Wilson, Nathan Wright