Lindenwood University

Digital Commons@Lindenwood University

Archived Lindenwood Press Releases

Public Relations

5-15-2020

Gangloff Murphy Prunty Win Lindenwood Belleville Faculty Awards

Lindenwood University

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.lindenwood.edu/press_releases



GANGLOFF MURPHY PRUNTY WIN LINDENWOOD BELLEVILLE FACULTY AWARDS

May 15, 2020

Lindenwood University – Belleville's annual faculty awards were recently announced, the culmination of a process in which nominations are made by members of the faculty and award winners are selected by the faculty council.

Amy Gangloff, professor of history, won the 2020 Award for Teaching Excellence. The award is presented to the faculty member with the best teaching effectiveness, classroom innovation, and student focus. In an excerpt from her nomination, Gangloff was described as a riveting and masterful teacher.

"Put quite simply, Amy comes alive in front of the students," the excerpt reads. "Students cannot simply sit back and be passive learners in her class. She expects that they know information from previous lessons and are able to apply it to the current lesson."

Lindsay Murphy, adjunct instructor of psychology, won the 2020 Adjunct Faculty Teaching Award, with the award nomination citing her effectiveness and imagination in teaching. An excerpt from her nomination said she personified "dedication, competence, and ingenuity."

Trisha Prunty, professor of psychology, won the 2020 Scholar of the Year Award, which recognizes the highest level of professional scholarship. An excerpt from Prunty's award nomination praised her for involving students in her research and bringing them to regional conferences.

"She represents not only the scholarship that most teachers in our situation can engage in," the excerpt reads, "but more impressively, she does so by maintaining the spirit of a liberal arts institution by using it as the amazing teaching and learning opportunity it is."

The faculty awards are normally presented to the winners at an all-faculty meeting in May, but the coronavirus pandemic necessitated the temporary closure of campus and the cancellation of the award presentations.