### **Lindenwood University**

## Digital Commons@Lindenwood University

Archived Lindenwood Press Releases

**Public Relations** 

5-11-2018

## Lindenwood Staff and Faculty Award Winners Announced

Lindenwood University

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.lindenwood.edu/press\_releases



Part of the Business and Corporate Communications Commons

# Lindenwood Staff and Faculty Award Winners Announced

May 11, 2018



In separate ceremonies, Lindenwood University recently announced its annual staff and faculty awards.

### **Staff Awards**

Staff awards were presented at the all-staff meeting in the J. Scheidegger Center for the Arts on Monday, April 30. Nominations for each award were made by university employees, and winners were selected by an awards panel. Winners received a trophy and each have use of a dedicated parking spot for a year.

Rookie of the Year, which recognizes an outstanding employee in his or her first year of service, was awarded to Head Athletic Trainer Kristin Trotter.

The Lindenwood Staff Service Award, which recognizes a staff member who has exhibited the highest level of service to and promotion of the university, was awarded to Casey Finnell, assistant athletic director for Academic Services.

The Behind the Scenes Award is for a staff member whose position does not entail direct interaction with the students but who still "lives the Lindenwood mission and provides excellent service to the university." It was awarded to IT Network Engineer Scott Schulz.

The Student G.E.M. Award, which recognizes a staff member who has made an ongoing commitment to providing excellent service to Lindenwood students, was awarded to Nia Spencer, who works in Academic Services as a technical representative, specifically for the university's military students.

The "Like No Other" Award, which recognizes a staff member who has made a significant positive impact within his or her department and across the university, was awarded to Kara Schilli, director of admissions for the evening and graduate team.

The Martin Luther King Jr. Leadership Award, which is also presented to a faculty member and a student, was presented to Toni Josato, director of academic technology services. It recognizes service to the university community toward promoting a more inclusive society.

### **Faculty Awards**

The annual faculty awards were presented at the faculty meeting on May 3, the culmination of a process in which nominations are made by members of the faculty and award winners are selected by a committee.

The Lindenwood Adjunct Teaching Award is presented to a part-time or adjunct instructor who demonstrates innovation, student-centeredness, and effectiveness as a classroom teacher. It was presented to Susan Royals, who teaches in the School of Education.

The President's Scholar-Teacher Award is presented to a faculty member who best merges professional scholarship with effective pedagogy. It was presented to Dr. Chad Kerksiek, professor of exercise science.

The Emerson Award for Teaching Excellence, sponsored by Emerson Electric, Inc., is presented to the faculty member who demonstrates the best combination of pedagogical innovation, student-centeredness, and effectiveness as a classroom teacher. It was awarded to Dr. Melissa Elmes, professor of English.

The Scholar of the Year Award is presented to the faculty member who exhibited the highest level of professional scholarship during the present and prior academic years, as generally validated by editors, publishers, professional organizations, etc... It was awarded to Dr. Stephen Sherblom, associate professor of education leadership.

The Lindenwood Service Award is presented to the faculty member who exhibited the highest level of service to and promotion of Lindenwood University during the present and prior academic years. It was awarded to Dr. Julie Turner, associate professor of nonprofit administration.

The Lindenwood Student Government Association Teacher of the Year Award, which is selected by that organization, was awarded to Rebecca Foushee, professor of psychology.

The Martin Luther King Jr. Leadership Award, which is also presented to a staff member and a student, was presented to Saint Rice, assistant professor of criminal justice. It recognizes service to the university community toward promoting a more inclusive society.

### **Faculty Promotions**

Promotions in rank of faculty were also announced and included the following:

Annie Alameda, professor of physical education

Alison Albee, associate professor of biology

Geremy Carnes, associate professor of English

Kyle Coble, associate professor of marketing

Rebecca Foushee, professor of psychology

Amy Gangloff, professor of history

Rachael Gossett, associate professor of criminal justice

Kate Harrell, associate professor of music

Michael Ibele, associate professor of chemistry

Beth Kania-Gosche, professor of education leadership

Chad Kerksick, associate professor of exercise science

Areerat Kichka, associate professor of economics

Brendan Leahy, associate professor of communications

Lynda Leavitt, professor of education leadership

Christina Pomianek, associate professor of anthropology

Trisha Prunty, professor of psychology

William Rogers, professor of economics

Lindy Rossow, associate professor of exercise science

Scott Shreve, associate professor of biology

Robert Singer, professor of accounting

Kate Tessmer, professor of exercise science

Chajuana Trawick, associate professor of fashion design

Julie Turner, associate professor of nonprofit administration

Graham Weir, professor of education leadership

Jennifer Welsh, associate professor of history

Sherrie Wisdom, professor of education leadership

Pernell Witherspoon, professor of criminal justice

Joe Zlatic, associate professor of criminal justice

Tricia Zweier, associate professor of dance