### **Lindenwood University**

# Digital Commons@Lindenwood University

Archived Lindenwood Press Releases

**Public Relations** 

11-11-2010

# St. Louis Sports Hall of Fame Honoring Lindenwood

Lindenwood University

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.lindenwood.edu/press\_releases



Part of the Business and Corporate Communications Commons



#### **Lindenwood University - Campus News**

### St. Louis Sports Hall of Fame Honoring Lindenwood

#### 11/11/2010

The Lindenwood University Athletic Department will be honored Tuesday with a Special Achievement Award at the second annual St. Louis Sports Hall of Fame Enshrinement dinner at the Millenium Hotel downtown. The athletic department is being honored for winning six national championships during the 2009-10 school year.

Lindenwood is receiving one of the Hall of Fame Award of Champions at the event. The six Lindenwood teams that won national titles were clay target shooting, Lion Line dance, men's ice hockey, women's ice hockey, roller hockey, and women's table tennis.

The 2010 induction class into the St. Louis Sports Hall of Fame is: Brett Hull, Steve Stipanovich, Jim Hart, Joe Garagiola, Dick Vermeil, Cliff Hagan, Dizzy Dean, Al MacInnis, Hale Irwin, Bob Broeg, Marshall Faulk, Pat McBride, George Sisler, Don Carter, Earl "Butch" Buchholz, and Ted Simmons.

Eight other Special Achievement Awards will be given out at the Enshrinement dinner. Washington University is also receiving the Hall of Fame Award of Champions. Budweiser's 1950s Bowling team is receiving the St. Louis Award for Past Champions. The President's Choice Award is going to the Rawlings Sporting Goods Company. Jack Clark is receiving the Star of the Game Award, Cardinals Care is being honored as the Community Service Humanitarian Award, Monsignor Louis Meyer is being awarded the Hall of Fame Heart of Gold Award, Ray Cliffe is the Metro Legend Award honoree, and Michelle Conley is the Special Olympics Athlete of the Year.