

Lindenwood College Honors Convocation

Jelkyl Theatre for the Performing Arts

April 23, 1989

7:30 P.M.

CREATIVE LEADERSHIP

James D. Thompson Leadership AwardJudy Peter
The award is given to a junior who has demonstrated leadership qualities in clubs, newspaper, radio work, student government, service organizations, athletics, or other student programs. The primary criteria are demonstrated caring for and devotion to the Lindenwood community
Sophie Wagner Urman Award
The Sophie Wagner Urman Award for Individual Accomplishment is given annually to a student who has shown outstanding individual accomplishment in any area. The recipient for this award possesses qualities of being a success in life
Who's Who Among Students in American Universities and CollegesKathy Quinr
This is the 55th year that Who's Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges has recognized advanced undergraduates and graduate students at more than one thousand schools in every state, students who have been nominated by their campuses for outstanding scholastic achievement and contribution to community life
Linden Scroll
"Recognizing the advantages of a Service Honorary Organization, the members of Linden Scroll are bound together in a society whose purpose is to promote College loyalty, to advance the spirit of service and fellowship on the campus, to promote and maintain standards of scholarship, to recognize and encourage leadership, and to stimulate the intellectual development of the college students"Preamble, Constitution of Linden Scroll
Outstanding Member Award, Psychology Interest GroupLise Smith
This honor is awarded to the member of the Psychology Interest Group who has given the most significant service to the Group during the current academic year

SCHOLARSHIP

The F. Gilbert Bickel III AwardF. Gilbert Bickel III
For over a decade, the F. Gilbert Bickel III award has been given to the outstanding business administration student. This cash award is donated by Mr. Bickel, a prominent member of the St. Louis investment community and a former Adjunct Professor of Finance. The recipient, nominated by the faculty of the business administration department, is selected on the basis of grade point average and cocurricular departmental activities
Alpha Sigma Tau
Alpha Sigma Tau, founded at Lindenwood in 1922, annually honors graduating seniors who have demonstrated excellence in their studies. Those seniors achieving a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher are invited to membership
Alpha Lambda DeltaEdith Graber
Alpha Lambda Delta is the national scholarship honor society for first year and new transfer students. Alpha Lambda Delta has recognized superior academic performance among entering college and university students since its inception at the University of Illinois in 1924. Lindenwood's chapter has been active since 1949
The Jessie Bernard Award in Sociology/Anthropology
The Jessie Bernard Award in Sociology/Anthropology was initiated in 1984 to honor the internationally known sociologist who taught at Lindenwood College from 1940-1947. It is awarded to the senior sociology major(s) who have achieved an outstanding record in the Department of Sociology/Anthropology
Associates of The Fine Arts Award
An annual cash award is provided by Associates of The Fine Arts, a support group of the art department, given to a senior or graduate student for outstanding performance in either art history or studio art
Harry D. Hendren Award
An annual cash award named for the late chairperson of the art department is given to a senior for outstanding performance in studio art
Outstanding Senior Communication Award
The Communications Department Scholastic Achievement Award is presented for outstanding academic performance and distinguished service in department activities
Anna AwardGlen Cerny
Presented in memory of Anna Guttermuth, former housekeeper for the Memorial Arts Building and good friend of KCLC staff members, the award is made to a graduating senior for dedicated service to KCLC as well as for outstanding academic performance

PROGRAM

Music is performed by Lindenwood student Dave Powell

Address	John Wehmer
PERFO	RMANCE
The Spahmer Creative Writing Award	Jean Fields
whose work in poetry, fiction, drama, or the to be the best submitted in each genre. The	presented annually to the student or students ne essay is judged by the English Department e contest is open to all full-time students past ormerly drama critic for the St. Louis Globesh award by bequest in 1946
Outstanding Teacher Education Awards	Diane Denney
	l is given for service to the education depart- acation activities, potential as a professional

Russell Crider Pre-Health Professional ScholarshipJohn Bornmann
The Russell Crider Pre-Health Professional Scholarship honors the memory of Russell J. Crider, long time Lindenwood Board member and prominent St. Charles physician. The scholarship is awarded annually to a returning student working toward a professional health career and post graduate health professional study
James Magee Award
The James Magee II Memorial Scholarship honors the memory of James Magee II, who was a Lindenwood student from the Class of '88 majoring in performing arts. The student selected for this annual scholarship will be majoring in and working toward a career in performing arts
The David C. Baue Memorial ScholarshipSusan Rudolph
The David C. Baue Memorial Scholarship for community service is a tribute to the leader- ship of David C. Baue, who made significant contributions through his dedicated services to the Lindenwood College Board of Overseers and the entire St. Charles community. The scholarship, established by the St. Charles Jaycees, annually benefits a student who actively participates in community services, while completing an undergraduate degree at Lindenwood College.
St. Charles Kiwanis Renaissance Medal of Honor ScholarshipRay Shaberg/Rudy Beck
The St. Charles Kiwanis Renaissance Medal of Honor Scholarship is sponsored by the St. Charles Kiwanis Club in conjunction with Lindenwood. This full-tuition annual scholarship is awarded to a student of the highest academic standards who has a proven commitment to active service on campus and in the St. Charles community. The Scholarship is the highest academic and community service award that the Club gives to a student
NAIA Scholar AthleteArt Siebels
To be selected as a National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics Scholar Athlete, a student must have a 3.3 cumulative grade point average at the time of nomination. Soccer nominees must demonstrate a high proficiency as a starter in 75% of the matches during the season of nomination. Only junior or senior players are eligible. Tonight we recognize Lindenwood's NAIA Scholar Athletes
NAIA All-American
Each of the NAIA three geographic regions select twelve rank-ordered All-Regional players to be considered for All American selection. The voting for the All American team is compiled by the NAIA Games Committee at the site of the national tournament. Twelve women soccer players were named NAIA All American, NAIA highest recognition for excellence on the field

THE COLLEGE SEAL

The Lindenwood College seal, mounted on the theatre podium, was fashioned of stained glass by Professor of Art John Wehmer after his redesign of the family crest of College founders Mary and George Sibley. The seal is displayed regularly in the entrance way to the office of the President in Roemer Hall, and is centered on the College flag